Have You Ever Thought About Driving With A Suspended License

caught driving on suspended license, suspended license, freeman grapevine,Just for fun, I was looking up some Texas Driving Laws recently and came across something that I had never thought about: “What happens if you get caught driving with a suspended license?” Do you get arrested? Do you get ticketed? Both? Does it have to do with why you lost your license in the first place? (Side note: if you don’t know, you can also lose your license if you don’t pay child support.)

There are people out there who will chance it. They will disregard a court order, get in their car and go about their business hoping they don’t get pulled over for another violation.

I pulled this from mytexasdefenselawyer.com, so thanks guys for the information.

If you are convicted of knowingly driving with a suspended license, it is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a find up to $500. It is a Class B misdemeanor – up to six months in a county jail – if you have been previously convicted, or previously had your license suspended for DWI.

It is also a Class B offense not to surrender your license to the state upon demand after your suspension.

The Texas Transportation Code also allows for an additional license suspension the same length as the first. For example, if your license was suspended for six months, and you are convicted of driving during that suspension, your license will be suspended for another six months after the original period ends

But the real penalty for driving on a suspended driver’s license is the cost.

To begin with, it is very likely that the police will have your car towed from where you were stopped. You will be responsible for the towing fees, and for a daily storage fee at the tow yard until you pay the money and retrieve your car. This can run into the hundreds of dollars.

Then you also will pay:

  1. Criminal fines that can range up to $2,000, depending on the charge.
  2. A reinstatement fee of $100 and SR-22 insurance, which can be very expensive.
  3. A surcharge of $250 a year for three years.

This video is from California, so don’t take this as Texas State driving law, it’s just a further example of what can happen if you get caught driving on a suspended license.

I don’t know about you guys, but if you drive on a suspended license and get caught, well, all I can say is, “Good Luck” and “I hope you are independently wealthy”. Be smart. If you have suspended driver’s license, you are better off getting a ride from a friend, or family member, or just staying home altogether.